Autism – What is it and What is it to me.

Google defines Autism as being –

a mental condition, present from early childhood, characterized by great difficulty in communicating and forming relationships with other people and in using language and abstract concepts.

The National Autistic Society is a really good organisation that helps to provide information and support to many on the spectrum. Their website is the Number 1 go to for info.

http://www.autism.org.uk/about/what-is.aspx

The BBC Science page is also quite informative to, to give a general overview.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/0/21700034

But what does this mean for me?

Autism is not a one size fits all. The way it effects me may be different from how it effects another person on the spectrum. I’m classified as being ‘mild’, that doesn’t mean that i don’t have challenges that other more ‘severe’ autistic people face, it just means i cope better.

In terms of support, i’m very independent and prefer not to be fussed around about my autism. But in this blog there will be times where i may reach out and say how i can be supported, but for the most part i like to deal and cope with things by myself.

It is also important to be aware that i have experienced negative attitudes and comments in the past, relating to me being on the spectrum that has made it difficult over time to be open about how it effects me, or even just talking about it in general. It’s difficult, because you just don’t know how someone will react or how it might change in the way they think of you. Some of the ways it effects me is quite odd, in terms of my habits and behaviour – and that is the most difficult to talk about, but also the most important parts to it. Because these are the parts i can’t hide so well.

There may also be some who take umbridge about me wanting to ‘hide’ it, but to me, its a coping mechanism that works for me, in a word that isn’t designed for people like me. I feel better relying on my coping mechanisms and for people ‘not to know’, because then they get to know ‘me’ rather than ‘the girl with autism’. And then (i know people do this, hell, even i do this) figuring out what autistic traits i have by observing me. I am not a goldfish, people.

 

